Highly Effective Criminal Defense, Real Estate And Estate Planning
Attorney Bryan E. Cameron

How long do moving violations stay on your record in New York?

On Behalf of | Jan 17, 2022 | blog

A moving violation in New York is a traffic offense while your car is in motion. How long a moving violation stays on your record depends on what type it was.

The average amount of time

Most moving violations remain on your record for about four years. The state removes them on Jan. 1 the fourth year after the year you received the moving violation. However, drinking and driving is a serious offense that stays on your record for 10 years.

More than one moving violation

One minor moving violation on your record may not cause your insurance to go up. If you receive more than one within a 10-year period, however, your insurance may increase. Another possibility with multiple traffic violations within a 10-year period is loss of your license.

New York’s driver violation point system

New York uses a driver violation point system to evaluate how risky a driver is. Each moving violation you receive adds a certain number of points to your record.

If you exceed up to 10 mph over the speed limit, law enforcement may penalize you with up to three points. Reckless driving on its own comes with a five-point violation. You will also having a speeding violation added on as well as any other offenses like not wearing your seat belt.

Removing points faster

In some situations, you have the option to remove points from your record faster by completing a DMV-approved Point and Insurance Reduction Program, or PIRP. Another benefit of going through a PIRP is a minimum 10% reduction in the base rate of your insurance premium for three years.

Suspension of your license

New York may suspend your license if you accumulate 11 points within an 18-month period. Failing to pay a “driver responsibility assessment fee” could also result in suspension of your license. New York might penalize you with such a fee if you accumulate six points or more within an 18-month period. The minimum for this fee is $100 a year for three years.

Moving violations in New York stay on your record for a while, potentially increasing your insurance. However, you may have the option of removing it sooner by completing a PIRP if the violation was not serious.