Highly Effective Criminal Defense, Real Estate And Estate Planning
Attorney Bryan E. Cameron

Fight DWI Charges With A Former Prosecutor

Drivers of all backgrounds could find themselves facing serious driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges. Intoxicated driving is a relatively common violation in Suffolk County and Nassau County. However, the penalties can still be severe.

Law Office of Bryan E. Cameron will take your side no matter the circumstances. As a former criminal prosecutor, our lawyer fully understands how the other side operates. He has successfully defended numerous clients across New York against DWIs, and he can represent you.

Understand The Stakes Of Your Case

The consequences of a DWI conviction can be serious, ranging from economic damage to jail time. You could lose your vehicle or your license, which could also affect your career if your job requires driving.

For a first offense, you might face a misdemeanor or a violation, depending on your chemical test or refusal to test. After an arrest for another DWI within 10 years of your prior conviction, you will face a felony.

Trust us to navigate the entire process, including the criminal proceeding, refusal hearing and the administrative hearing regarding license suspension. We will fight to keep you from losing your license or being sentenced to jail time.

We Will Examine Your Options From All Angles

When you hire us to defend you on a DWI charge, we will:

  • Review the details of the traffic stop to determine whether the police had reasonable suspicion to pull you over
  • Check whether police notified you of your rights before you made any statements
  • Confirm that the police correctly administered field sobriety, breath and blood alcohol tests
  • Thoroughly investigate the facts and evidence to determine whether law enforcement violated your rights in any other way

We have in-depth knowledge of the field sobriety tests and breath testing machines that Long Island law enforcement uses, such as the Alco-Sensor, Breathalyzer and Intoxilyzer. This allows us to build strong arguments for cases that rely solely on test results.

If you face license suspension, we will work to secure a hardship license or conditional license so you can drive to work, school or medical appointments. We also handle zero-tolerance proceedings for individuals under the age of 21 who face charges of operating a vehicle under the influence.

Frequently Asked Questions About DWI
In Suffolk County, New York

At Law Office of Bryan E. Cameron, our lawyer understands that our Suffolk County clients may be scared and confused about their charges. Here are the answers to some of the questions he hears the most:

What is the difference between DWI and DWAI in New York?

DWI is the term for “driving while intoxicated,” while DWAI is the term for “driving while ability impaired.” For most drivers, DWI is the charge when a driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher, although it is also used for commercial drivers with a BAC of .04% and drivers under 21 years of age with a BAC of .02% or higher. These are the “per se” BAC levels that automatically equate to impairment, even if the driver “appears” sober.

DWAI is generally charged when a driver’s BAC is between .04% and .07%, but they show other signs of impairment, such as slurred speech and coordination problems.

What is implied consent?

Under New York’s implied consent law, drivers are considered to have consented to submit to chemical testing on their breath, blood or urine to determine their blood alcohol content (BAC) merely by driving on any public road. Refusal to submit to a test will lead to the immediate suspension of your diver’s license, even if you are not impaired.

Can you refuse a field sobriety test in New York?

There are three commonly administered field sobriety tests designed to gauge a driver’s sobriety:

  • Walk-and-turn test
  • One-legged stand test
  • Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus test

It cannot be stressed enough that drivers are under no legal obligation to submit to field sobriety tests, and they are deeply flawed.

When is a DWI a felony in New York?

You can be charged with a felony DWI, even for a first offense, if you have a child under 16 years of age in the vehicle with you while you are impaired, you have a second DWI within 10 years, you caused seriously bodily injury or the death of another or you hold a commercial driver’s license and your blood alcohol content (BAC) registered .04% or more.

Your Defense Starts Today

After a DWI arrest, do not wait to secure legal defense. Meet with our criminal defense attorney for a free case review. Contact us online or call us at 631-319-3487 (toll-free at 888-816-9087). Se habla español.

Recommended Reading

DUI statistics: Men versus women

The impact of a DWI on your nursing career in New York

A BUI could affect your driver’s license, too